20
Dec
10

Amazing Day in New York – Visit to NYPL and MoMA

I had an amazing afternoon in New York today. I went out to Times Square to meet a friend from Cornell. We had a good discussion over coffee which revolved around studies and entrepreneurship. Then I went to New York public library to visit the three faiths (Judaism, Christianity, Islam) exhibition. This exhibit is a must see for anyone willing to understand the similarity of beliefs and practices among more than half the human race, who sadly, despite of all these similarities, still manage to treat each other as hostile aliens from another planet. 😦

This verse on the library wall best described the spirit of the exhibition:
“We believe in God, and in what has been revealed to us and what was revealed to Abraham, Ishmael, Isaac, Jacob, and the Tribes, and in what was given to Moses, Jesus, and the Prophets, from their Lord: We make no distinction between one and another among them.” β€” Qur’an 3:84

And I saw a beautiful 14th century Arabic manuscript of Quran from Turkey, and a thirteenth century Hebrew Bible; which were artistic πŸ™‚

Then I went to the Museum of Modern Arts (MoMA). It was about to close (only 20 minutes left), but as I got a free ticket on my student ID, so I decided to give it a shot. It turned out to be breath-taking and inspiring. Due to shortage of time, I could only see one of the four floors, but it really made my day. A paper ring was balanced floating in air between two fans at the entrance of stairs. There was a helicopter hanging across the void between the floors! A computer program was attempting to visualize paths of thousands of planes, thus giving an amazing sight of the flight patterns. And another one provided a wonderful bubbles based intuitive match making interface containing profiles of users collected from the internet over years. There were amazing artistic evolutionary designs of objects of common use like recliners, chairs and dutbins etc. i saw a few of the photos and paintings by women artists which were on display before time ran out. On my way out, I went to the museum shop. It has great little gifts of objects of everyday use with artistic designs. I hope to go back one day to see the rest of the museum and buy some souvenirs too πŸ™‚

On my way back home, I visited Rockefeller center to see the Christmas tree, the ice skating rink, and above all the hustling crowd. In fact, it was so crowded that the police had to stop more people from entering the area. There was a great positive energy in the crowd and everyone seemed so happy. I really loved this day. πŸ™‚

0 Responses to “Amazing Day in New York – Visit to NYPL and MoMA”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

